Catholic Schools

“Catholic education is important both in religious teaching and in all the other subjects that go to make up the total instruction of human persons and to prepare them for their life’s work and their eternal destiny.” Pope John Paul II

Catholic schools in the Roman Catholic Diocese of Providence:

  • Collaborate with parents, the primary educators of their children, in educating the whole person—mind, body, and spirit;
  • Present a place to encounter the living God who reveals his transforming love and truth in Jesus Christ;
  • Foster a community permeated by the gospel spirit of love and freedom;
  • Relate all of human culture and, indeed, all of creation to the goodness of salvation,
  • Prepare their pupils to hear and respond to their vocations with exemplary and apostolic lives that contribute to the common good of society and the welfare of the world.

Each school is accredited by the New England Association for Schools and Colleges. Students earn scores on standardized tests above state and national averages.  98.4% of students graduate from high school, and 99% go on to college. Highly professional, caring teachers, strong parent involvement and supportive school leaders provide a school climate that promotes energetic, enthusiastic and disciplined students who take pride in their school and their achievements.

Are you an educator? Learn more about working as a teacher or principal in one of the schools in the Diocese of Providence.

The Rhode Island Catholic Schools Parents’ Federation is an organization that works on the local, state, and national level to protect and advocate for the rights of Catholic school parents and students.

To locate a Catholic school or for more information, please visit the Diocese of Providence’s Catholic Schools website.

Contact Information
Daniel J. Ferris, Superintendent
dferris@dioceseofprovidence.org

Jack Wright, Education Coordinator
hwright@dioceseofprovidence.org

Stephen Murphy, Coordinator of Teaching and Learning
smurphy@dioceseofprovidence.org

Mr. Edward Bastia, Business Administrator
ebastia@dioceseofprovidence.org

Mrs. Denise Bassett, Secretary
dbassett@dioceseofprovidence.org

Mrs. Susan Geoffrey, Secretary/Receptionist
sgeoffrey@dioceseofprovidence.org

One Cathedral Square
Providence, RI 02903
401.278.4550